About Us

AV의 (AV의) was founded in 1982 through the efforts of advocates, community, and health organizations. These founding members created AV의 to provide better medical care for the people of Hawai쁦 by the advancement of medical education and training for medical residents in the State of Hawai쁦. Over time, AV의 has expanded to include 17 ACGME-accredited residency and fellowship programs on O쁝hu with some programs offering clinical rotation experiences on the neighbor islands.


Prior to the creation of AV의, the residency programs in Hawai쁦 operated independently, each with its own affiliation agreements with the University of Hawai쁦 and various hospitals. AV의 began in 1982 using a consortium organizational model, as a way to bring together these individual residency programs and their resources, to solve problems and share financial and legal risks and education in the most cost-efficient way, so that in turn, AV의 could give residents the best possible education and success. As healthcare delivery, graduate medical education, and laws have evolved, so too has AV의. AV의 and UH JABSOM remain separate, independent entities but share the duties, responsibilities and risks of GME governance in accordance with the UH AV의 First Amended Agreement signed in December 2012.

Mission & Purpose

Our mission is to support the advancement of medical education and training for medical residents in Hawai쁦, coordinate the administration of the residency programs, and act as a liaison between the residency programs and the affiliated hospitals/healthcare systems. Our purpose is to provide better medical care for the people of Hawai쁦 by producing quality physicians, convening with Hawai쁦셲 health partners as we advance medical education and training for medical residents in the state of Hawai쁦.

Board of Directors

Jill Hoggard Green, PhD
The Queens’ Health Systems
AV의 Board President

Raymond P Vara, Jr.
Hawaii Pacific Health
AV의 Vice President

Gregg Oishi
Kuakini Medical Center
AV의 Secretary/Treasurer

Lee Buenconsejo-Lum, MD
John A. Burns School of Medicine
AV의 Board Director

Susan Steinemann, MD
John A. Burns School of Medicine
AV의 Board Director

Program Directors & Program Administrators

Program Directors (PDs) and Program Administrators (PAs) are the cornerstones of our residency and fellowship programs. PDs are responsible for the approved curricula components of education, clinical knowledge and skills, scholarly development and other pertinent areas for their respective residency programs.

PAs provide administrative support to the PDs in the day-to-day operations of their residency program. Our PAs at AV의 bring extensive experience to graduate medical education; six have been with AV의 for more than 20 years and nine have advanced degrees. This is a true testament to AV의셲 commitment to support the advancement of medical education and training for medical residents in Hawai쁦.

Program Administrators have access to operational documents and commonly used templates via Sharepoint

(Curriculum Resources are password protected; access provided to each Program셲 leadership)

Residents as Researchers

Congratulations to our 2021 Awardee!

David Shimizu, MD
Program Director
Pathology Residency Program

Dr. Shimizu has been the Program Director for Pathology during two separate terms2006 to 2016 and 2019 to 2021. He was also a past recipient of this Program Director award in 2010 and 2014. In addition to Program leadership, Dr. Shimizu has been a Pathologist at The Queen셲 Medical Center for nearly 30 years, including his service as Chief of Pathology from 1988-1992. Our residents have expressed appreciation for his great dedication to their well-being and his mentorship in career planning. With his door always open, residents have truly felt his caring leadership. With his profound experience and knowledge in Pathology, he has brought immense depth to the curriculum and research activities within the program that our residents and faculty are beneficiaries of.

Who was Peter C. -P. Char?

Peter C. -P. Char was a highly respected attorney who represented residents and fellows in medical liability issues for over 15 years. Mr. Char was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawai쁦. He received his B.A. degree from Yale College and his J.D. from Northwestern University School of Law. Mr. Char dedicated much of his practice to the defense and education of medical residents in the areas of risk management and medical malpractice. His memorial fund has been designated to honor residency program directors who exhibit excellence in teaching and dedication to graduate medical education, as Mr. Char did for most of his professional life. A $1,000 award will be given to a program director nominated by his or her colleagues and trainees and selected by the AV의 Board of Directors.

Past Recipients



Reid Ikeda, M.D., Internal Medicine Residency Program
Andrew Nichols, M.D., Sports Medicine Fellowship Program

Samuel Evans, M.D., Transitional Year Residency Program

Robert Hong, M.D., Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program

Shilpa J. Patel, M.D., Pediatric Residency Program

Mark Hiraoka, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program
David Shimizu, M.D., Pathology Residency Program

Robert Hong, M.D., Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program

Courtenay Matsu, M.D., Psychiatry Residency Program


David Shimizu, M.D., Pathology Residency Program


Kamal Masaki, M.D., Geriatric Medicine Fellowship Program

Erlaine Bello, M.D., Internal Medicine Residency Program

John Hardman, M.D., Pathology Residency Program

D. Christian Derauf, M.D., Pediatric Residency Program

Tod Aeby, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program

Eligibility & Selection Criteria

  • The nominee has been a program director for at least one year as of May 1st
  • The program is fully accredited by the ACGME
  • The residents/fellows in the program support the nomination
  • The Department Chair supports the nomination
  • There is evidence of dedication and effectiveness in teaching residents/fellows
  • The nominee exhibits behaviors that are value-based and highly principled
  • The nominee is an exemplary role model
  • The nominee participates in a national program directors’ association, if there is one for the specialty
  • The nominee has not been a recipient of the award in the past two years

To Nominate a Program Director

Nomination Materials Required

  • Completed application form
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Letters of support that state reasons for the nominee’s selection and include a brief summary of the nominee’s significant contributions to graduate medical education in: (a) curriculum and teaching; (b) leadership; (c) mentorship; (d) patient care and safety; (e) program development and improvement; (f) research; (g) resident and faculty development.
    • Letters of support should be from at least two of the following:
      • Department Chairperson 
      • Residents/Fellows (highly recommended) 
      • Faculty member(s) 
      • Others

Please send completed application form, support letters and curriculum vitae to:

AV의, Inc.
1356 Lusitana Street, Suite 507
Honolulu, HI 96813

Telephone: (808) 586-2890
Fax: (808) 586-2947
Email: mkeawe@hawaiiresidency.org

The deadline to submit nominations is March 1.

Central Administration

Executive Director
Natalie K.H. Talamoa

Deputy Executive Director
Auli’i Dudoit

GME Operations Director
Marlene Keawe

Human Resources Director
Rick Kinigson, PH: (808) 586-2891

Human Resources
Rick Kinigson, PH: (808) 586-2891

Connie Tu, PH: (808) 586-2892

Executive Administrator
Avi Gonzalez, PH (808)-586-2895

GME Support & Database Specialist
Ellen Bell, PH: (808) 586-2890